Vision 2025

Passionately sustainable

“By the year 2025, we will no longer be using any palm oil or exclusively sustainable palm oil in the production off our margarines and fats. The focus of the development and the production of our SENNA brand products is on high-quality, healthy foods for commercial customers and end consumers in the defined markets.”

Practiced sustainability as a matter of conviction

Siegel Nachhaltigkeit

At SENNA, we practice sustainability as a matter of conviction and, by means of our enthusiasm, inspire others. We take care to act in an environmentally responsible and resource friendly manner  along the entire value chain, and offer sustainable products. We choose our suppliers and product ingredients with care, train our employees and strive towards short transport distances. Thanks to permanently modernised systems and innovative solutions, we conserve the environment. We also continually train the sense of responsibility of our employees.

 

SUSTAINABLY INTEGRATED

PURCHASING

  • We use sustainably produced raw materials

  • We purchase RSPO-certified, sustainable palm oil

  • We select suppliers with a focus on sustainability

PRODUCTION

Our production is resource friendly:

  • Green energy and the use of waste heat

  • Modern equipment: including the modernisation of the mayonnaise production in 2013 and first use of the company’s own tube filler at the factory in Vienna in 2016
  • Reduced water consumption thanks to modern CIP cleaning

  • Production of organic, Clean Label and ZERO-Palm products

  • Use of sustainable palm oil

PACKAGING

  • We package our products in as environmentally friendly a way as possible
  • Economical use of dyes
  • Recycling of used drums
  • Depending on the business segment, we have been using plain cardboard boxes since 2009

LOGISTICS

  • We pay heed to short transport distances: Central site in Vienna, Partial change-over of the means of transport from HGV to railway in 2014
  • Modernisation of the refrigeration system in the high-bay warehouse in 2014

AWARDS

  • Since 1996 Implementation of strict HACCP guidelines  
  • Since 2004 Certified according to IFS (International Food Standard)  

  • Since 2007 Bio certified  

  • Since 2009 GreenPalm certified  

  • Since 2010 klimaaktiv project partner of the Austrian Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management  

  • Since 2012 Certified according to RSPO-Sustainable Supply Chain  

  • Since 2013 Own palm oil-free product line: Alba Group award for resource-saving work (857 tons of resources were saved through recycling) 
  • Since 2014 Certified according to ISO 50001 for systematic energy management: Awarded the ÖKO-PROFIT environmental award of the City of Vienna for the 14th time

SENNA explains

Palm oil

SENNA recognised the problems associated with the production of palm oil which doesn’t respect nature and the people living in the areas, it is produced in, early on, and has been championing the responsible use of palm oil since 2009. SENNA is of the opinion that clear rules and regulations pertaining to the cultivation and the certification of sustainable palm oil are needed. For this reason, SENNA has been a member of the Round Table for Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) since 2001 and, along with this non-profit organisation, supports the development and the realisation of global standards for sustainable palm oil.  The tenets and principles of the RSPO demand a significant reduction in the amount of pesticides used, the fair treatment of workers, and the necessity of information and consultation with the local communities ahead of the establishment of new plantations on their land.

 

To this end, SENNA offers its products with two different types of sustainable, RSPO-certified palm oil:

Mass Balance

The “Mass Balance” trading model is a blend of sustainable palm oil from certified plantations with standard palm oil in controlled volumes. This reduces the costs of logistics and, at the same time, can increase the demand for sustainably produced palm oil.

Senna Mass Balance
Oelpalme Senna

Segregated

The “Segregated” trading model is palm oil which, from the start, is processed, transported and refined separately from standard oil by certified plantations. Hence, 100% of this oil comes from certified plantations.

 

SENNA also offers its customers the option of purchasing palm-free products. These are mainly margarines and frying fats which, upon request, can be produced without using any palm oil whatsoever. “In recent years, we have developed numerous palm-free recipes and, if requested by our customers, can produce our products without any palm oil. It is important that it is our customers who are making this decision and that SENNA, as the supplier, satisfies the requirements and demands of its customers,” says Walter Trybek, Managing Director. The entire requirement for palm oil is therefore reduced by using palm-free products and the proportion of sustainable palm oil increases year on year.

SENNA also offers its customers the option of purchasing palm-free products. These are mainly margarines and frying fats which, upon request, can be produced without using any palm oil whatsoever. “In recent years, we have developed numerous palm-free recipes and, if requested by our customers, can produce our products without any palm oil. It is important that it is our customers who are making this decision and that SENNA, as the supplier, satisfies the requirements and demands of its customers,” says Walter Trybek, Managing Director. The entire requirement for palm oil is therefore reduced by using palm-free products and the proportion of sustainable palm oil increases year on year.

Did you know…?

The cultivation area is convenient:

Cultivation areas close to Asia’s main markets, hence shorter transport distances

 

The oil palm has a smaller land requirement:

Highest area productivity of all oil plants, making it economical and potentially environmentally friendly

 

Palm oil is a naturally hard fat:

No chemical hardening required, no trans-fatty acids

 

Palm oil has many different uses:

Universal uses, making it an important staple food in many countries

Keeping an eye on everything

Our labelling

In order to offer our customers the utmost transparency, we use certificates by independent organisations and internally developed labels for our products. This ensures you always have all the necessary information at a glance!

Kennzeichnung Zero Palm

ZERO Palm

Our “ZERO-Palm” line of products stands for 100% palm oil-free products. Instead of palm oil, we mainly use the fat of the shea nut. The shea butter procured by SENNA comes exclusively from suppliers which are members of the Global Shea Alliance. This alliance champions fair trading conditions and supports the village communities in the cultivated areas.

Organic

The term “Organic” is legally protected in the EU. Organic products must come from controlled organic farms, may not be genetically modified and must be cultivated without the use of chemical-synthetic resources. Our organic “Linea Verde” margarine line is certified by Austria’s leading organic inspection board.

Kennzeichnung Bio
Natuerlich Kennzeichnung Natürlich

Natural

At SENNA, “natural” stands for products which are produced exclusively from natural ingredients and which are free of artificial colouring agents, preservatives and aromas – such as the “LinieN” by SENNA. Enjoyment of nature in its original form.

Vegan

Only those products which contain absolutely no animal components whatsoever can be labelled “vegan”. The delicatessen and the margarine ranges by SENNA both contain a wide selection of vegan products, such as the “ZERO-Palm” margarine and the products from the “Linea Verde“” and the “LinieN” lines.

Vegan Kennzeichnung Vegan

Senna

Margarine is green and sustainable every day

Margarine is more environmentally friendly than animal fat, such as butter. Why? Margarine needs about half as much land as needed for the production of butter products, and the CO2 footprint is less than one-third of the footprint of butter. As part of a study published in March 2016, researchers at the Oxford Martin School discovered that a global change to a diet based more on the consumption of plant-based products could save 8 million human lives by the year 2050, would reduce greenhouse emissions by two-thirds, would lower health-related expenses, and could prevent damage to the climate amounting to US$ 1.5 trillion.

 

Palm oil, coconut oil, Soya bean oil and sunflower oils used in the production of margarine are plants which are cultivated and traded all over the world. Sustainable farming enables us to protect the natural resources of our planet and, at the same time, guarantees long-term food security.  

The margarine industry guarantees the use of sustainable palm oil – i.e. palm oil certified according to the specific criteria of the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO). Satisfying these criteria can contribute towards the reduction in the negative influence of the cultivation of palm oil on the environment and on society. As an ingredient in itself, palm oil is neither good nor bad. The oil of the palm fruit contains 50% saturated and 50% unsaturated fatty acids and a relatively high proportion of anti-oxidants in unrefined palm oil. An important aspect which is frequently overlooked is the fact that palm oil represents an extremely important resource for fighting poverty. It is a fact that 40% of the global palm oil is produced by small-scale farmers in South-East Asia, Africa and South America.

Margarine is healthy and nutritious every day

Brot Margarine

The use of margarine as a spread and cooking fat is a simple way of ensuring a healthy, balanced diet and of improving the quality of the fats in your diet. Margarine is an excellent source of vitamins E, D and A. Over the past 20 years, the proportion of trans-fatty acids has been significantly reduced since the process of converting plant oils into margarine has changed. Hence, today’s margarines contain less than 2% trans-fatty acids in the total fat content – meaning that the frequently discussed “health risk” is absent. Moreover, margarines usually contain fewer saturated fatty acids than animal fats, thanks to the recipes which have experienced continual improvements over the decades. Since margarines are produced from vegetable oils, they contain polyunsaturated and mono-unsaturated fats, the so-called “good” fats, also known as Omega-6 and Omega-3 fatty acids.

 

Many consumers are not sufficiently aware that not only healthier eating is important but that both – healthy and sustainable food – go hand in hand. Minor changes such as substituting butter for margarine or restricting your meat consumption already make a big difference.


Find out about our sustainable range!


OUR PRODUCT RANGE

Vision 2025

Leidenschaftlich nachhaltig

„Wir werden bis zum Jahr 2025 bei der Produktion von Margarine und Fetten kein Palmöl oder ausschließlich nachhaltiges Palmöl verwenden. Der Fokus bei der Entwicklung und der Produktion unserer SENNA Markenprodukte liegt auf hochwertigen und gesunden Nahrungsmitteln für gewerbliche Kunden und Endkonsumenten in den definierten Absatzmärkten.“

Gelebte Nachhaltigkeit aus Überzeugung

Siegel Nachhaltigkeit

Wir von SENNA leben Nachhaltigkeit aus Überzeugung und stecken mit unserer Begeisterung auch andere an. Entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette bemühen wir uns um umwelt- und ressourcenschonendes Handeln und bieten nachhaltige Produkte an. Wir wählen Lieferanten und Produktzutaten mit Bedacht, schulen unsere Mitarbeiter und bemühen uns um kurze Transportwege. Durch laufend modernisierte Anlagen und innovative Lösungen schonen wir die Umwelt und auch das Verantwortungsbewusstsein unserer MitarbeiterInnen wird laufend geschult. 

NACHHALTIGKEIT INTEGRIERT

EINKAUF

  • Wir verwenden Rohstoffe aus nachhaltiger Produktion

  • Wir beziehen RSPO-zertifiziertes, nachhaltiges Palmöl

  • Wir wählen Lieferanten mit Fokus auf Nachhaltigkeit

PRODUKTION

Wir produzieren ressourcenschonend:

  • Ökostrom und Abwärmenutzung

  • Moderne Anlagen: unter anderem Modernisierung der Mayonnaise-Produktion im Jahr 2013 und Inbetriebnahme der hausinternen Tubenabfüllung am Standort Wien im Jahr 2016
  • Wassereinsparung durch moderne CIP-Reinigung
  • Produktion von Bio-, Clean-Label und No-Palm-Produkten
  • Verwendung von nachhaltigem Palmöl

VERPACKUNG

  • Wir verpacken so umweltschonend wie möglich
  • Sparsame Verwendung von Farben
  • Recycling von verwendeten Fässern
  • Seit 2009 verwenden wir geschäftsfeldbezogen unbedruckte Kartons

LOGISTIK

  • Wir achten auf kurze Transportwege: Zentraler Standort in Wien, 2014 teilweise Umstellung des Transports von LKW auf Bahn

  • 2014 Modernisierung der Kühlung im Hochregallager

AUSZEICHNUNGEN

  • Seit 1996 Anwendung strenger  HACCP-Richtlinien
  • Seit 2004 zertifiziert nach IFS  (International Food Standard)
  • Seit 2007 Bio-zertifiziert
  • Seit 2009 GreenPalmzertifiziert

  • Seit 2010 Klima:aktiv-Projektpartner des Bundesministeriums für Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Umwelt & Wasserwirtschaft

  • Seit 2012 zertifiziert nach RSPO Sustainable Supply Chain (nachvollziehbare Beschaffungskette beinachhaltigem Palmöl)

  • Seit 2013 eigene palmölfreie Produktlinie - Auszeichnung für ressourcensparendes Arbeiten durch die Alba Group (857 Tonnen   Ressourcen wurden durch Recycling eingespart)

  • Seit 2014 zertifiziert nach ISO 50001 für systematisches Energiemanagemen- Zum 14.  Mal Auszeichnung mit dem Umweltpreis ÖKOPROFIT der Stadt Wien

PALMÖL

SENNA klärt auf

SENNA hat die Problematik der Palmölproduktion ohne Rücksichtnahme auf die Natur und die dort lebenden Menschen schon früh erkannt und setzt sich bereits seit 2009 für den verantwortungsbewussten Umgang mit Palmöl ein. SENNA ist der Ansicht, dass es klare Regeln für den Anbau und die Zertifizierung von nachhaltigem Palmöl braucht. Seit 2011 ist SENNA deshalb Mitglied beim Round Table for Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) und unterstützt gemeinsam mit dieser Non-Profit-Organisation die Entwicklung und Umsetzung von globalen Standards für nachhaltiges Palmöl. Die Grundsätze und Prinzipien des RSPO schreiben einen signifikant reduzierten Pestizideinsatz, eine faire Behandlung der Arbeiter und die Notwendigkeit einer Information und Konsultation mit den lokalen Gemeinden vor dem Anbau neuer Plantagen auf ihrem Land vor.


SENNA bietet seine Produkte daher mit zwei verschiedenen Arten von nachhaltigem, RSPO-zertifiziertem Palmöl an:

Mass Balance

Bei dem Handelsmodell „Mass Balance“ (engl. für „Massengleichgewicht“) wird nachhaltiges Palmöl von zertifizierten Plantagen mit herkömmlichem Palmöl in kontrollierten Mengen vermischt. Dadurch reduzieren sich die Logistikkosten und gleichzeitig kann die Nachfrage nach nachhaltig produziertem Palmöl gesteigert werden.

Senna Mass Balance
Oelpalme Senna

Segregated

Bei dem Handelsmodell „Segregated“ (engl. für „getrennt“) wird das Palmöl von zertifizierten Plantagen von Beginn an vom herkömmlichen Öl getrennt verarbeitet, transportiert und raffiniert. Das Öl stammt demnach zu 100 % von zertifizierten Plantagen.

Zudem bietet SENNA seinen Kunden die Möglichkeit Produkte palmfrei zu beziehen. 


Dies betrifft vorrangig Margarinen und Frittierfette, welche auf Wunsch komplett ohne Palmöl produziert werden können. „Wir haben in den letzten Jahren zahlreiche palmfreie Rezepturen entwickelt und können, wenn es von unseren Kunden gewünscht ist, unsere Produkte ohne Palmöl herstellen. Wichtig ist, dass diese Entscheidung von unseren Kunden getroffen wird und SENNA als Lieferant die Bedürfnisse und Anforderungen seiner Kunden erfüllt“, sagt Walter Trybek, Geschäftsführer. Der Gesamtpalmölbedarf wird dadurch durch palmfreie Produkte reduziert und der Anteil an nachhaltigem Palmöl jährlich gesteigert.


Wussten Sie schon …?

Das Anbaugebiet liegt günstig:

Anbaugebiete in der Nähe der Hauptmärkte Asiens, dadurch kürzere Transportwege

 

Die Ölpalme hat einen geringen Flächenbedarf:

Höchste Flächenproduktivität aller Ölpflanzen, dadurch kostengünstig und potenziell umweltfreundlich

 

Palmöl ist ein naturhartes Fett:

Keine chemische Härtung notwendig, keine Transfettsäuren

 

Palmöl ist vielfältig einsetzbar:

Universelle Verwendungsmöglichkeiten, deshalb auch wichtiges Grundnahrungsmittel

in vielen Ländern

Alles im Blick

Unsere Kennzeichnungen

Um unseren Kunden größte Transparenz zu bieten, verwenden wir für unsere Produkte Zertifikate von unabhängigen Organisationen sowie eigens entwickelte Labels. Damit haben Sie alle wichtigen Informationen immer auf einen Blick!

Kennzeichnung Zero Palm

ZERO Palm

Unsere Produktlinie „ZERO-Palm“ steht für 100 % palmölfreie Produkte. Statt Palmöl verwenden wir hauptsächlich das Fett der Sheanuss. Die von SENNA bezogene Sheabutter stammt ausschließlich von Zulieferern, die Mitglieder der Global Shea Alliance sind. Diese setzt sich für faire Handelsbedingungen ein und unterstützt die Dorfgemeinschaften in den Anbaugebieten.

Bio

Der Begriff „Bio“ ist in der EU gesetzlich geschützt. Bio-Produkte müssen aus kontrolliert ökologischem Anbau stammen, dürfen nicht gentechnisch verändert sein und müssen ohne den Einsatz von chemisch-synthetischen Mitteln angebaut werden. Unsere Bio-Margarinelinie „Linea Verde“ ist von Österreichs führender Bio-Kontrollstelle zertifiziert.

Kennzeichnung Bio
Natuerlich Kennzeichnung Natürlich

Natürlich

Bei SENNA steht „natürlich“ für Produkte, die ausschließlich aus natürlichen Zutaten hergestellt werden und frei von künstlichen Farbstoffen, Konservierungsstoffen und Aromen sind – so wie die „LinieN“ von SENNA. Das ist Genuss der Natur in ihrer ursprünglichsten Form.

Vegan

Nur Lebensmittel, die keinerlei tierische Bestandteile aufweisen, dürfen als vegan bezeichnet werden. Sowohl im Feinkost- als auch Margarinesortiment von SENNA findet sich eine große Auswahl an veganen Pr odukten, unter anderem die „ZERO-Palm“-Margarine und die Produkte der Linien „Linea Verde“ und „LinieN“.

Vegan Kennzeichnung Vegan

Margarine ist jeden Tag grün und nachhaltig

Margarine ist umweltfreundlicher als tierisches Fett, wie zB. Butter. Warum? Margarine benötigt ungefähr halb so viel Land, als für die Produktion von Butterprodukten benötigt wird und der CO2-Fußabdruck beträgt weniger als ein Drittel des Fußabdrucks von Butter. Forscher der Oxford Martin School haben im Zuger einer im März 2016 veröffentlichten Studie herausgefunden, dass ein globaler Umstieg auf eine Ernährung, die mehr auf einem Verzehr von pflanzlichen Produkten basiert, 8 Mio. Menschenleben bis zum Jahre 2050 retten könnte, die Treibhausgasemissionen um zwei Drittel reduzieren würde und zu einer Verminderung gesundheitsbezogener Ausgaben führen würde und Klimaschädigungen in Höhe von 1,5 Billionen US $ verhindern könnte.

 

Palm-, Kokosnuss-, Sojabohnen-, und Sonnenblumenöle, die zur Margarineherstellung verwendet werden, sind Pflanzen, die auf der ganzen Welt angebaut und gehandelt werden. Durch nachhaltigen Anbau können wir natürliche Ressourcen unsres Planeten schützen und zur gleichen Zeit die langfristige Sicherheit der Versorgung gewährleisten.

Die Margarineindustrie verpflichtet sich, nachhaltiges Palmöl zu verwenden – dies ist Palmöl, das entsprechend den spezifischen Kriterien des Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) zertifiziert wurde. Unter Beachtung dieser Kriterien kann ein Beitrag zur Reduktion des negativen Einflusses des Palmölanbaus auf die Umwelt und die Gesellschaft geleistet werden. Palmöl als Zutat an sich, ist weder schlecht noch gut. Das Öl der Palmfrüchte enthält 50 % gesättigte und 50 % ungesättigte Fettsäuren und einen relativ hohen Anteil an Antioxidantien in unraffiniertem Palmöl. Ein wichtiger Aspekt, der oft übersehen wird, ist die Tatsache, dass Palmöl ein sehr wichtiges Mittel zur Armutsbekämpfung darstellt. Es ist eine Tatsache, dass 40 % des globalen Palmöls von Kleinbauern in Südost-Asien, Afrika und Südamerika produziert wird.

Margarine ist jeden Tag gesund und nährreich

Brot Margarine

Die Verwendung von Margarinen als Brotaufstrich und Kochfett ist ein einfacher Trick, um sich gesund und ausgewogen zu ernähren und die Qualität der Fette in seiner Ernährung zu verbessern. Margarine ist ein hervorragender Lieferant für Vitamin E, D und A. Der Transfettsäureanteil wurde in den vergangenen 20 Jahren sehr stark reduziert, da sich der Prozess der Umwandlung von Pflanzenölen zu Margarine verändert hat. So enthalten die heutigen Margarinen weniger als 2% Transfettsäure im gesamten Fettanteil, eine „Gesundheitsgefährdung“, die oft diskutiert wird, gibt es also nicht. Auch enthalten Margarinen normalerweise weniger gesättigte Fettsäuren als tierische Fette, dank den über die Jahrzehnte ständig verbesserten Rezepturen. Da Margarine aus pflanzlichen Ölen hergestellt wird, enthält sie mehrfach und einfach ungesättigte Fette, die sogenannten „guten“ Fette, auch bekannt als Omega-6 und Omega-3-Fettsäuren.

 

Viele Verbraucher sind sich nicht ausreichend bewusst, dass nicht nur das gesündere Essen wichtiger ist, sondern dass beides, gesunde und nachhaltige Lebensmittel Hand in Hand gehen. Kleine Änderungen, wie der Ersatz von Butter durch Margarine oder die Einschränkung des Fleischverzehrs machen schon einen großen Unterschied.


Lernen Sie unser nachhaltiges Sortiment kennen!


UNSER SORTIMENT